GOSPEL READING AND REFLECTION

MAY 19, 2020

JOHN 16: 5-11

GOSPEL READING AND REFLECTION

Life in Jesus is a paradise…

But now I am going to the One who sent me, and none one of you ask me where I am going; instead your are overcome  with grief, because of what you have said. Believe me, it is better for you that I go away, because as long as I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you. But if I go away, I will send him to you, and when he comes, he will vindicate the truth before a sinful world;  and he will vindicate the paths of righteousness and justice. What is the world’s sin, in regard to me? Disbelief. What is the path of righteousness?  It is the path I walk, by which I go to the Father; and you shall see me no more. What is the path of justice? It is the path on which the prince of this world will always stand condemned.

POINT OF REFLECTION


Jesus died on the cross and was buried. In the third day, He rose to life and appeared to his disciples.  In this way, they were reminded, about the talk of the temple destruction and rebuilding  in three days. Now, the meaning was very clear to them.


Jesus appeared to his disciples and followers many times for the period of about 40 days. All of these days were spent working for the disciples’ encouragement to be steadfast of their works Jesus was leaving for them. On the final day of His ascension, Jesus assured them not to worry because a Helper, Holy Spirit,  will come on his behalf. Jesus brought his disciples in a place for them to witness how the son of man ascends into heaven. 


On the day of the Pentecost, 50 days after Jesus has risen, they gather in a room and prayed speaking in tongues so that the Holy Spirit  send down before them and converted more or less 3000 thousand faithful. At that very day, the promise was made true.

Christians now a day’s went their ways with the Holy Spirit. We are now living a life not in Jesus human flesh but in Jesus with the Holy Spirit. That is why Jesus told the faithful that “they will not believe in you because they will not see me, you believe in me because I am with you in Spirit.


During the time of grave persecution, the high authorities wondered how the disciples endure and kept on their works amidst difficult circumstances. The very reason my dear brothers and sisters is the presence of the Holy Spirit working in them. They bravely witness Jesus with the Holy Spirit. Christianity conquers the world not by force and power of war equipment  but conquers the whole world by way of Jesus greatest love and sacrifices through the death of the faithful truly inspired by the works of the Holy Spirit.

One thought on “GOSPEL READING AND REFLECTION

Comments are closed.