JOHN 17 :20-26 GOSPEL READING AND REFLECTION (MAY 28, 2020)

I pray not only for these. But also for those who through their  word will believe in me. May they all be one, as you Father are in me and I am in you. May they be one in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory  you have given me, that they may be  one as we are one: I in them and you in me. Thus they shall reach perfection  in unity; and the world shall know that you have sent mw, and that I have loved them, just as you loved me.

Father, since you have given  them to me,  I want them to be with me where I am,  and see the glory you have gave me, for you loved me before the foundation of the world.

Righteous Father, the world has not known you, but I have known you and these have known that you have sent me. As I reveal your name to them, so will I continue to reveal it, so that, the love with which you loved me may be in them, and I also may be in them.”

POINT OF REFLECTION

When Jesus finally returned to the Father in heaven, his full concern was for his disciples and followers not just of yesterday but also today and in the future till his coming. Like sheep without a shepherd, his disciples and followers might end up losing their sense of direction in life. But Jesus did not just cross his arms instead, He consistently ask the Father to do something in his behalf about the people whom the Father has given him who listen and believe  the one who sent him to them. 

The real context is, Jesus ascension into heaven really prepares for our accommodation in the Father’s house in heaven. Since then and until today, Jesus would  be forever busy  in the Father’s house making sure that with the coming of our time, a room is already prepared for us, his followers. We need to know that Jesus’ works for our salvation, does not end on the cross, but still an ongoing process until the judgment day.

Now that we know what Jesus is doing for us yesterday, today and tomorrow, in the Father’s house; Have you done something for yourselves to compensate what Jesus is doing at the right hand of the Father? Yes,  it is true that Jesus is our ticket into heaven but be reminded that St. Augustine one’s said, “The God who created you without you cannot save you without you.”  Salvation is all but concerted efforts of God and man who wish to be saved.

In general, Jesus is always working for our unification to the Father. But such things does not happen like magic but can only be achieved in a sequential process which precede from the unity in the community, unity in Jesus and unity  to the Father.  This is called a perfect blend of unity, a unity which Jesus had spoken  “I am  united in them as I am  united in you.”  

One thought on “JOHN 17 :20-26 GOSPEL READING AND REFLECTION (MAY 28, 2020)

Comments are closed.